A Song for a Sunday

Sundays are special days. For Christians, Sundays have long been set aside as the Sabbath day. A day that is supposed to be filled with worship, rest, and relaxation. A day for remembering the good, creative work that God has done and continues to do.

However, too often Sundays seem to become “catch all” days. The joy of the weekend is starting to wear off, often too fast, and Monday’s deadlines, meetings and activities start to loom large on the horizon. There are often papers to write (as someone in the midst of finals, I’m highly preoccupied with papers right now), laundry to do, groceries to buy and the list could go on.

I used to be better about setting Sundays aside. In college, I would often try (emphasis on the try) to finish up homework prior to Sunday, so that Sunday could be a day full of mental space, to prepare myself for the day ahead. I have to confess that, as Justin and I have gotten busier and busier, it’s gotten harder to make it to church regularly on a Sunday, let alone set time aside for reflection, prayer and “space.”

This week, I stumbled across and rediscovered one of Patty Griffin’s songs that describes exactly what I feel a Sunday should be. I know this is not the first time I’ve mentioned Patty Griffin and, frankly, it will probably not be the last. Her lyrics have a way of capturing something of the divine among the ordinary, and the raw quality of her voice always seems to summon up deep human emotion.

So today, on this Sunday sabbath, I will leave you with this song and these words from Ms. Patty herself, because I’m not sure that I could say it any better at this point in time. May you experience today as a heavenly day of rest, reflection and rejuvenation for the days and week to come.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

